Master of Photography: Lewis Hine

I chose Lewis Hine because I really liked how he shot images with such a strong message or tone. The photo I like most of his is “Young Russian Jewess”. The image gives off a serious type of tone. I don’t know the context of the image or what was happening during the time the photo was shot but I think Hine shot it with the intent to say something about a present issue. Most of his images are of people doing something like working or hanging out. Some of his popular ones are of people doing labor and the image of the girl working at a cotton mill. Hine was known for documenting child labor throughout America. His image brought attention to an issue in the work area of minors working hard dangerous labor jobs and getting little pay. Hine was able to bring attention to issues in society which is one reason I like him and his work. I also like him was because he influenced others to do the same and bring attention to social issues. He also was a documentary photographer, and he made his images tell a story with such a simple shot.

 

Child Labor
Young Russian Jewess

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *